Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Suggestion on where to ask for help in designing a simple RPM/rotation checking device?

skysquid

Oct 10, 2023
Where best to look for help to identify how to build and assemble a simple device to alert me (with a load buzzer and flashing light) that a shaft on a gear motor is no longer turning? I have a piece of food equipment that gets stuck and burns out the 1/2 HP motor. This is my third time getting it rewired. Ideally, looking for a simple solution that doesn't require a board but simple components that can be wired together,

It can be optical, magnetic, or mechanical. I was thinking of gluing a magnet on the rotating flat part on the backside of the gear motor with a reed switch tracking movement.

I seek help identifying the correct part numbers and general guidance on putting it together. The design constraints are each and cheap. I am not a programmer, but I know how to solder.

Thanks for any leads/advice.

skysquid

Oct 10, 2023
this is the end of the gear motor that needs to be tracked to know that it is constantly turning during operation.

Attachments

• rotator.jpg
    rotator.jpg
    244.8 KB · Views: 4

skysquid

Oct 10, 2023
Hi. No. We are trying to prevent another motor burn out and want to track the rotation so we know if it stops so we can turn the motor off and clear the jam.

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
You can get current monitoring relays with programmable delays that will trip if the set current is exceeded for any given time period. This might be a better option:

Use the relay contacts to either stop the motor and/or sound an alarm.

The alternative is to fit a sensor that outputs a signal whilst the shaft is turning (could be a rotary encoder or optical reflecting IR LED/sensor) and circuitry that detects the loss of this signal.

skysquid

Oct 10, 2023