Maker Pro
Maker Pro

what exactly is Voltage

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Electricity is a form of energy as is heat. Voltage is the potential difference between no electrical energy and some electrical energy.
Amperage is essentially the amount of Voltage per unit of time.
What? None of those statements is true. Especially the last one.

As for what voltage is, I can't actually explain it, although I've been an electronics engineer for 20+ years.

Voltage used to be called "electromotive force" (EMF), i.e. a force that makes electrons move, and that's true in that voltage does make electrons move, but "force" is not a very appropriate word in my opinion because to me, force is something you measure within an object - for example, if you squeeze something between your thumb and finger, you are exerting a force on it (which would be measured in Newtons), whereas voltage is not measured within something; it's measured between two points, like a distance that you measure with a ruler or tape measure.

It's also called "potential difference". This means more to me, because voltage is always a difference - it's always measured between two points. So if voltage is a difference in potential, the question becomes "what is potential?" and again I can't answer that in any useful way.

You should know about the hydraulic model for voltage and current, where water flowing in pipes represents current. Personally I don't find that model very useful, although there's a good match between water flow and electron flow. (I find electron flow an easy enough concept to understand.)