Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Amplifier Repair - electrolytic capacitors expose metal top?

looxuser

Dec 28, 2015
Hi I am new to electronics fault finding, why when i touch dvm probs to ground and the top exposed metal part of an electrolytic can i see a voltage please?

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Hi I am new to electronics fault finding, why when i touch dvm probs to ground and the top exposed metal part of an electrolytic can i see a voltage please?
What voltage do you see? The case should not be tied to either pin, the voltage you are seeing could be caused simply by the average charge residing in the capacitor. There should be no current flow.

http://www.teapo.com/WebSiteFile/Download/Specification.pdf

HellasTechn

Apr 14, 2013
That depends on the circuit. I think that normally you should not

looxuser

Dec 28, 2015
Interesting, views thanks, the capacitors are 6600uf 50v i think and they are smoothing capacitors I suspect just after a full wave rectifier on an ac supply to an audio amp. There are two one reads about 44v and the other 0.04v?

looxuser

Dec 28, 2015
I should have said both are the same, never have even thought to test to ground in that way as my knowledge said that was not tied to ground, I was just curious and surprised to see it. One interesting thing i read is that the material used to bond these to the pcb can become conductive and i thought as the stuff is plastered around the base that was what was happening but the bonding material doesn't seem conductive when i tested it with a DVM.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Interesting, views thanks, the capacitors are 6600uf 50v i think and they are smoothing capacitors I suspect just after a full wave rectifier on an ac supply to an audio amp. There are two one reads about 44v and the other 0.04v?

then it is possible that if they are large smoothing caps like that, that the metal can is connected... some styles have that option
we would need to see the cap, and how it is soldered to the board

photos would help