Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Modifying AGC circuit

kruskal

Jan 27, 2017
Hi there! I am fairly new to analog circuits, so I hope you can help me with a few questions about a circuit for automatic gain control that I found on http://electronicdesign.com/analog/effective-agc-amplifier-can-be-built-nominal-cost.

My microcontroller ADC needs to tap the speaker wire output from the car head unit, and I was hoping that I could use this circuit to present a stable input to the ADC regardless of the head unit volume setting.

1. Since my car audio head unit is bridged (like most car head units), should I use a 1:1 transformer between the speaker wire and the AGC circuit or is it ok to connect it directly to the speaker wire?

2. Would it be possible to run this circuit on 3.3V instead of 5? Do I need to change some compoents?

3. Do I need to use resistors (R1 for instance) with high watt rating or can I stick to standard ceramic caps?

figure_01.gif

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
A classic old circuit from the wayback machine. If you really want to build something from scratch, this will work. FYI, adafruit, ebay, et al have low cost AGC modules. Some are based on a single-chip AGC part made by Maxim.

1. A transformer will work, but you don't need one. Each of the two individual signals that make up a bridged output contain *all* of the audio. The two signals are 180 degrees out of phase with each other, but either one can be tapped for what you are doing. The outputs sit on a DC pedestal approx. equal to 1/2 the battery voltage, so you need a coupling capacitor in front of R1.

2. 3.3 V operation will be pushing the limits of an LM358. That part is over 45 years old, born way before the 3.3 V logic craze. The circuit will work fine on 12 V, so why do you think you need 3.3 V operation? If it is because your uC runs on 3.3 V, you can scale the AGC output with P1.