Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Modifying a battery powered light to hardwired.

Bamse

Nov 9, 2018
Apologies in advance if this is a bit simple for these forums but I'm new to this and this looked like a good place to ask.

As above, I have a motion activated battery powered indoor light and want to hard wire it so I can stop wasting batteries.

I have a AC to DC adapter rated to the current voltage and current and Im going to solder the the wires to the positive and negative battery contacts in the light itself.
My question is, should I be adding a fuse in the circuit and if so, can I have a recommendation of what type to use please?
The light runs off of 4 AA batteries at the moment.

Thanks for looking.

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
Welcome to the forum, you are doing right to start with low voltage, low power equipment. You can work up to lightning generators slowly.:)

Look at the current demand of the light and select a fuse somewhat bigger than this. You probably need a 100mA one or so. A delay fuse that is one marked T may stop stop the fuse blowing at switch on.

I assume the light contains electronics. If so, get the polarity right.

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
You didn't say what the rated voltage and current for your motion-sensitive light is. Four alkaline chemistry AA cells provide 6 V DC when fresh. The current available from AA cells is typically less than one ampere, so if your AC to DC power supply is a "wall wart" delivering 6 V DC at no more than 1 A (6 watts), you probably don't need a fuse. Such devices are self-current-limited by design.

Bamse

Nov 9, 2018
Thanks for the help and the suggestions guys

The light is led so very low power the manufacturers spec state that is 0.7 Watts at 6 volts so I work that out to be 0.12amps.

It does contain a small circuit board