Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Building an analogue wind direction meter

JoeSmith

Sep 22, 2018
Hello All

I want to build a wind direction indicator. It needs to be more than a mechanical weather vane because our house is built in such a way that I can't see any points outside from inside where a vane can sit freely in the wind. So I'm envisaging a simple and relatively small weather vane outside, probably on top of the house, that transfers its horizontal rotational movement to a vertically mounted analogue dial on a wall mounted plaque inside the house. I understand that to do this I need a pair of syncro motors which makes sense but I don't know the best place to acquire these (I'm currently in the UK) or the spec. I've looked into creating a magnetic system but that doesn't seem to provide enough torque to move a decent sized needle on the wall mounted unit. Does anyone know of any existing plans for such a thing or somewhere I can refer to to build it? I'm a relative novice with electronics and this project is really just something to take my mind off work so it's meant to be fun and has no particular time scale but if anyone can offer me any advice on how to approach it and any other design input, I'd be very grateful.
Many thanks
Joe

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
Many of the amateur electronics magazines have had the run-of-the-mill wind speed/direction projects published in the in the past and there have been numerous iterations of the principle.

There are the analogue scale devices, simple 'digital' devices and even non-moving parts devices (some sensed temperature differentials over two axes and integrated the result....others used ultrasonics).

I don't know if you have any requirement for accuracy but a simple 16-cardinal-point device could be made using a magnet and reed switches with a corresponding LED display or, if you were adventurous, scaling resistors and an analogue readout.

A simple Google search came up with: