Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Blowing a 3A fuse with an AA battery?

Esoremada

Jul 27, 2014
I'm completely new to circuit building and am starting off with this book, but I'm already having trouble with experiment 2, which seems pretty straightforward
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B5Gl6fAWcS-_bFVrODRwSm5ZMUE/edit?pli=1

On page 11 it says to connect a AA battery directly to a mini blade fuse to see the filament break, but it just isn't happening. I know the current is going through the fuse because when I disconnect the blade fuse from one battery terminal and measure the potential difference it is there. I even tried a 9V battery and nothing

Anon_LG

Jun 24, 2014
Try putting your multimeter in series with the battery and the fuse, check the current using the current setting. There could have been a manufacturing fault with the fuse so try a new fuse, if there is current the fuse was made too thick if there is no current then either you need a new battery or a new fuse. And you measure potential difference, (voltage) in parallel. See here for how to place your multimeter when measuring.

KJ6EAD

Aug 13, 2011
Two possibilities in order of likelihood:

1. You used a battery that is dead or nearly dead such as the one intentionally shorted in the previous experiment;

2. You have a fuse of a higher rating than specified for the experiment.

mkel_01_35.jpg

Last edited:

Externet

Aug 24, 2009
If the fuse does not melt, the energy contained in that AA cell is not enough to reach 3 Amperes for the lenght of time needed for melting. Can be a cheap cell, a depleted cell, a poorly connected cell...

flippineck

Sep 8, 2013