Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Tracing short circuit on pcb

Dan_68

May 1, 2011
Hi all,

I am an engineer so i have done a bit of electronics, i have read all the different methods of testings different components, resistors, capacitors, diodes, transistors etc. However i am having great difficulty locating methods to find problems on boards. I have checked voltages and found i have a short but not sure where. Any one have any tips on how to find this. Repair work is very difficult when just starting out. i need to fix something get my confidence and enthusiasm back up.
thanks

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
If you have something that can measure very low resistances, you can use this to track down a short. The closer you get to it, the lower the resistance will be.

You probably need to be able to resolve milliohms.

Dan_68

May 1, 2011
I have an old analog multimeter of good quality ill see what resolution it has and give it a try. Any more tips or links to help would be much appreciated so frustrating working for hours and finding nothing

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
A multimeter is probably not up to the job - unless it is a very precise one.

First: have you done a visual inspection? Sometimes solder whiskers can be seen with the aid of a moderate magnifying glass.