Maker Pro
Maker Pro

I want to program microcontrollers. Tell me what to do next.

Ilya_Radium

Mar 11, 2018
Hello! I am a student, I study computer engineering (1st year). The thing is that I'm attracted to the programming of microcontrollers. In circuitry I'm noob. I have programming experience on Arduino (C ++) and on AVR (ansi C) and now I'm writing programs in C++.
As far as I am considered, STM32 is now relevant. Tell me please, what do you think will be relevant in the near future, in which direction to move on and what to study(what resources I should use, and where I can discuss my difficulties). Thank you and excuse me for my English (I'm from Ukraine).

BitHead

Mar 2, 2012
I would suggest... smartphone interface programming to control 'things'.
Become less of a NOOB with circuitry.
Get an ESP8266 - make a silly little toy - maybe just a buffer chip (ULN2803?) running LEDs or motors.
Get it to host a web page (static IP?) that sends/accepts commands (GET-POST stuff) to maybe run a motor and return its RPM. (you get to make an RPM counter!)
Android Bluetooth apps... attach a Bluetooth serial module (like maybe an HM-11) to the UART on your toy - do it with an app (learn to write code for Android interface).
THEN... maybe try to do it the hard way - a toy made with STM32WB. ;-)
OR... if you just want to sit on your butt and tap keys in front of a monitor, learn more about DSP with the STM32 family. DSP is needed to solve a lot of 'real world' problems, from noise filtering to voice recognition to motion control.
And... discussing your difficulties is what you do with your classmates/friends. Discussing what to do after 'trying and failing' (preferably more than once) - is what you can do here. :)

CDRIVE

Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3
May 8, 2012
Thank you and excuse me for my English (I'm from Ukraine).
Young man I've re-read this well structured question a few times. You have nothing to excuse yourself for.

Welcome to EP.
Chris

kellys_eye