Connect with us

I want to program microcontrollers. Tell me what to do next.

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers, Programming and IoT' started by Ilya_Radium, Mar 11, 2018.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Ilya_Radium

Ilya_Radium

Mar 11, 2018
    Hello! I am a student, I study computer engineering (1st year). The thing is that I'm attracted to the programming of microcontrollers. In circuitry I'm noob. I have programming experience on Arduino (C ++) and on AVR (ansi C) and now I'm writing programs in C++.
    As far as I am considered, STM32 is now relevant. Tell me please, what do you think will be relevant in the near future, in which direction to move on and what to study(what resources I should use, and where I can discuss my difficulties). Thank you and excuse me for my English (I'm from Ukraine).

hevans1944 and CDRIVE like this.
  2. BitHead

BitHead

Mar 2, 2012
    I would suggest... smartphone interface programming to control 'things'.
    Become less of a NOOB with circuitry.
    Get an ESP8266 - make a silly little toy - maybe just a buffer chip (ULN2803?) running LEDs or motors.
    Get it to host a web page (static IP?) that sends/accepts commands (GET-POST stuff) to maybe run a motor and return its RPM. (you get to make an RPM counter!)
    Android Bluetooth apps... attach a Bluetooth serial module (like maybe an HM-11) to the UART on your toy - do it with an app (learn to write code for Android interface).
    THEN... maybe try to do it the hard way - a toy made with STM32WB. ;-)
    OR... if you just want to sit on your butt and tap keys in front of a monitor, learn more about DSP with the STM32 family. DSP is needed to solve a lot of 'real world' problems, from noise filtering to voice recognition to motion control.
    And... discussing your difficulties is what you do with your classmates/friends. Discussing what to do after 'trying and failing' (preferably more than once) - is what you can do here. :)

Ilya_Radium likes this.
  3. CDRIVE