Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Adjustable speed motor

Leonord

Jun 14, 2012
Hello everybody,
Im a total newbie in electronics but I have a cool project idea that needs a special motor.
I need a motor with an adjustable speed.

Any ideas or help to build one?

Edit:
Seems like I forgot a lot of details.
I need a motor that can run all the time at a realy precise constant slow speed.
The motor will run a mechanical clock. Is must move a 2 meters long belt.
I want to be able to change the speed of the motor whenever I want because I dont know the final exact lenght of the belt or the dimensions of my clock.

Last edited:

donkey

Feb 26, 2011
all motors can be adjusted in speed. using pwm.
if you give us power requirements then we could possibly show you a circuit.

oh and welcome to the forums

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
There are many motor types which can be varied in speed, they go from cassette recorders to locomotives.

You need to specify power, speed, speed regulation, torque, voltage supply etc.

Building a motor would be very difficult.

Leonord

Jun 14, 2012
Is it possible to adjust precisely the motor with pwm? I need it for a mechanic clock.

Edit: I mean building the circuit not the motor xD

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
Building a motor would be very difficult.

Better stated building a reliable, high performance and high quality one is difficult...

I built one as a teen in high school for general shop, nothing to write home about I was just some hunks of steel and some winding wires, but it did spin...

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
You need a stepper motor and a controller to run it...

donkey

Feb 26, 2011
if its for a clock then the simplest idea is to get a normal motor and gear down the speed, in most cases this increases torque as well.
power requirements is still not added here

donkey

Feb 26, 2011
you don't NEED a stepper motor, it is easier that way. but if you goto nearly any basic craft store they will have a cheap clock you can pull apart to get the basic concepts.