Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Useing a mosfet to trigger solenoids. HELP!

RatShack

Aug 11, 2009
I am trying to build a circuit that activates some solenoids (4 in total) (2) 3 ohm solenoids and (2) 22 ohm solenoids.Solenoids are grounded to the structure.and have a positive input wire. I am planning on doing this with a Pic Chip, I Read that useing a mosfet would allow a faster switching then a standard Darlington setup. But i have never used mosfets before. does the coil resistance of the solenoid play a factor in what mosfet i use? The output of a pic is 5 volts and the voltage needed to power the solenoids is 14 volts. can someone please explain to me how i would do this. I am sorry for such a newbie question but i am still learning about all this stuff and Would like to learn as much as i can before i go to college for electronics engineering.

Thank you!

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Essentially you would use the PIC to drive an NPN transistor to give you an open collector output. This output would be connected to the gate of a P channel mosfet used as a high-side switch. Finally a resistor is connected between the gate and the +ve (load) power supply to turn the mosfet off. Because it's a P channel mosfet, the source is also connected to +ve and the load is connected between drain and ground.

RatShack

Aug 11, 2009
Essentially you would use the PIC to drive an NPN transistor to give you an open collector output. This output would be connected to the gate of a P channel mosfet used as a high-side switch. Finally a resistor is connected between the gate and the +ve (load) power supply to turn the mosfet off. Because it's a P channel mosfet, the source is also connected to +ve and the load is connected between drain and ground.

steve is there a way i can eliminate using a NPN entirely? Couldent i just keep the Output high and a pullup resistor to keep the MOSFEt turned off then bring it low to turn it on?