Maker Pro
Maker Pro

transistor circuit for counting wheel rotations

smiddle2012

Aug 2, 2012
Hey guys,
I am new to the forum. I hope this is the right section. Sorry if I ask some dumb questions, I am new to circuit design. This is for my first "no rules" pinewood derby. I wanted to know if anyone here knew of a simple transistor circuit I could build that will count how many times the wheel on the pinewood derby rotates. I was thinking something simple like a piece of foil on the wheel hits a piece of foil on the car, and that is one rotation.

When the car reaches X number, like 5 or 10, rotations, the motor I have hooked up to the car will start. I am going for a back to the future approach, when the car hits 8.8 ft/s well, you know the rest. Anyway, I have built simple circuits before but I am not sure how to do this, or even if I can with just transistors, caps, etc. If this is not do-able, any alternatives to getting the cars motor to start after the car starts rolling, that are still cheap, would be very welcome. Thanks in advance everyone, I love forums like this. :)
Sincerely,
SM

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
Since the wheels are opaque, I would simply mount a photo sensor behind the wheel, and then drill a hole in the wheel...

Or even more primitive use a small magnet mounted to the wheel and a read switch mounted to the car, as the magnet passes the read switch it will make contact and you can simply count the pulses... Using a decade counter (or a few cascaded) you could trigger the motor...

I would do the logic with a micro as it's more adaptable but, if you don't have experience and tools to work with them sticking to prebuilt chips like decade counters is likely a better option...