Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Repair of Oven Control Board - Maytag Range

PR0b39

Apr 13, 2021
My Maytag ('96) range has a problem on the control board which causes a blank display and no oven function. I have traced it to IC ULN2003AN (16 pin, hole mount). By heating up the IC I can get the display to light up and the oven to operate normally. It will stay on until there is a power disruption and then the display goes blank again. I find this IC listed in places like TI and Newark. Can I buy any of the ICs with the correct number or do I have to worry about things like size or other characteristics? I have some experience in electronics but not when it comes to replacing ICs. Also, I would like to socket it but don't know how to find the correct socket. I have tried, without success, to find someone in my area who does component level work because I really don't' have the soldering equipment to replace an IC. I guess I'll have to buy a few things. Better than buying a new stove! Thanks for any help you can provide regarding the purchase of a replacement IC and socket.

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Explain what you mean by.......... "heating it up" and .........."stays on until there is a power disruption".

As explained in the data sheet, the chip is a series of darlington transistors.
If you buy the through hole version to suit your part number you should be fine.

Tests on these devices are commonly done with measured input and output signals using a multimeter rather than the tip of a burning stick.

If zero soldering skills, I'd suggest you get someone who has experience as you can really damage the board beyond repair if you do not know what you are doing.
Placing the chip in a socket is just adding another layer of future fault level.

narkeleptk

Oct 3, 2019
Can I buy any of the ICs with the correct number........... Also, I would like to socket it but don't know how to find the correct socket..