Maker Pro
Maker Pro

power supply for a printed resistive flexible heater

sidneo

Jun 14, 2013
Hi I am a newbie I would like to get an advice for a printed resistive heater I am working on . The heater is a heat resistant thin film on which I printed patterns made out of resistive ink carbon/ graphite/ ferrous material each connected to the power supply via a more conductive ink (silver ink).
My goal is to do some kind of multiplexing to turn on and off certain areas my patterned circuit .Here is my questions is there an idiot proof way to calculate the power needed to turn my half millimeter resistors red hot ?

I Have Seen people turning graphite leads into incandescent light with 24volt 2 amp
How can one build a simple power supply to produce the Power Required will A joule thief do The Job ? If yes how ?Because I have tried I don't know what I am doing wrong I am getting 5 volt from a 9 volt battery the only think getting hot seem to be my transistor . My ideal solution would be to pulse high current to the resistors from capacitors connected to a usb power supply but I don't know if that's possible and I surely don't what Kind of capacitors to use

Apologise for my lack of knowledge and I hope to get a feedback soon .

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012
Can you post an approximate circuit diagram of what you have?
You would need to figure out the resistance and area (and thickness if possible) of your "resistor" that you want to get red hot.
A 9V battery is not going to be able to provide nearly enough current to make anything other than say a small bit of steel wool red hot.

poor mystic

Apr 8, 2011
Hi :)
For something to glow red hot it must have reached a temperature of 500*C to 800*C. But the question of how much energy is required to maintain your resistor at that temperature goes far beyond electronics.