Maker Pro
Maker Pro

MY SUPER OLD SCHOOL 35MM MOVIE CAMERA NEEDS HELP!

jabbar

Jul 27, 2023
Hi Folks,
Newbie here! I recently purchased parts to an old Russian film camera called a Konvas 2M. I would like to get it operational, but I need to know what types of old school connections are on it, so I can get the correct cables and adapters to supply power and control the fare rate so I can get it up and running.
Pics 1,2, and 3 of the rectangular box with the two 20-PIN connections (they kind of like old school VGA connections) are to a separate speed regulator that makes sure that controls the speed of the camera's motor. One 20-pin is male (on bottom), the other 20-pin is female (on top). If I was a betting man, I would guess that DC power comes into the regulator via the 20-pin is male plug (on bottom), passes through the regulator then exits through the 20-pin female on top. The power then moves on from the regulator to the camera's removable motor (pic 4). The motor is connected to the innards of the film gate on the camera and operates the pull-down claw, which moves the film through the camera at the speed dictated by the regulator's. You can see the whole motor in Pic 6.

You can see on the motor that there are two inputs, a 10-pin and a 19-pin. I need to know the name of the cables that plug into the motor. I am fairly certain that one of them is supposed to be an input, connecting to the regulator.
How to adapt the 20-PIN male from the regulator to the 10 or 19-pin input on the motor is one of my biggest questions, if this is how the two devices connect.

I am also not sure if one of the connections on the motor goes to a DC battery, or if the motor gets both power and regulation from the regulator.

Just getting the names of these four connections and exactly what they do would be of great service to me.

And finally, picture 5 is a cable with a 19-pin male side and 19-pin female side. It came with the motor and fits nicely into the 19-pin connection.