Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Hello From Mass. Newbie here.

trope

Aug 9, 2011
Hi,

My name is John, I am 37 years old ( yes, old I know ). I have been a computer programmer for almost 20 years, with experience ranging from Assembly to Cobol, and more recently(past 9 years) PHP, MySql, C++, etc. I am a web applications programmer for a major bank in the Boston area.

For many years I have had a desire to learn electronics. Recently, I decided to devote the time to this.

I have been intrigued with Kipkays projects, and am currently building his lie detector project, which only has a few components.

I have read through three books, cover to cover, to get the basics down.

1. Electronics for Dummies

2. All New electronics Second Edition

3. Everyday Practical Electronics

I think I have the fundamentals down, except I am missing that pivotal point in my learning, only which I can describe and equate to learning a new programming language, when everything "CLICKS".

I am not there yet.

Anyways, this is an introduction forum, so .... I am engaged and have a two year old. I like to fly remote controlled airplanes and boats. I am one of those idiots who buys the new gadgets as soon as they come out ( then fight with my g/f a month later when it is out dated, and I want to sell it to buy a newer version ).

I am excited to be here. I know I am so close to nailing down my "HELLO WORLD" electronics project, but need a little nudge.

Keep an eye out for my newbie questions if you are able to lend a hand.

Best Regards.

John T (TROPE)

daddles

Jun 10, 2011