Maker Pro
Maker Pro

free-to-air TV project

biggyfries

Mar 21, 2014
I am a noob with VERY little electronics knowlege but I came to this site to try to learn something. I have recently had a falling out with my cable TV service, I found I was only watching two or three channels but was paying well over $100 per month for service. I decided to drop the TV portion of my contract, and was able to still get about 30 channels, but most were of little interest--they were home-shopping, spanish programs, (I speak no spanish) religious channels, etc. But I did find local news, "classic" tv, and the network programs, and I was satisfied with this for a couple of years.
Then my cable server went 100% digital and my TV went blank--no signal at all. I found they wanted me to pay 29.99 for 6 months of TV service, and then the price would go up from there. I declined.
So I am looking for a way to get some kind of TV for no charge in my house. I don't want to 'steal' cable from anyone, but if there are signals out there I will be glad to receive them, whatever they may be.
Yesterday I had no signal of any kind, either antenna or digital. I had a pair of rabbit ears from my junk drawer, I plugged it in to my TV and found there were four channels--three spanish programs, and one NBC signal, I'm not sure where it comes from. It fades in and out so much (gets pixillated) so I can't have much satisfaction from that one. But I am encouraged to try to get a better antenna to get a stronger signal.
A friend says he will give me a used TV antenna with about sixty feet of coax cable attatched--he says If I can use it I can have it. I'll be picking it up later today. What else might I need to help my cause? A signal amplifier? Will an antenna be effective if installed in my attic? Must it be on a tall mast somewhere on my property? Sometimes putting up a tall mast is difficult/expensive. Suggestions?

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010