Maker Pro
Maker Pro

CR DC circuit

bill papas

Mar 12, 2015
Hi guys im in my first year of university studying mechanical engineering.
I have a course on basic electronics and we have been assigned a problem of a CR circuit connected to a dc power source.
I have spent over 10 hours trying to solve this problem but have still not made any headway. is there a chance someone could walk me through how to solve it or reference me to a solution with the same circuit?
thank you for any help provided in advance

el.gif

elec2.gif

Last edited by a moderator:

Laplace

Apr 4, 2010
These type of problems are so simple they are solved by inspection. The procedure was covered in a recent post:
But you should not try to over-think the solution. My linear circuits textbook had a section on how to analyze switched (aka step response) RC & RL circuits with one energy storage element, and how to do it graphically because there are only two possibilities (and duality applies, i.e., capacitor current behaves the same as inductor voltage, and capacitor voltage behaves the same as inductor current.)

So the two possibilities are as follows for quantity 'X' when switched at t=0:
1: 'X' starts with an initial value, then decays to zero.
2: 'X' slowly rises from zero to its final value.
If #1, use X=(initial value)∙e^(-t/τ)
If #2, use X=(final value)∙(1-e^(-t/τ))
where τ is the time constant, either R∙C or L/R

Note that the initial slope of the exponential curve is such that 'X' would achieve its final value in one time constant. Also note that some circuits may have constant offsets involved but this discussion only applies to the transient behavior. You could generalize the equations for non-zero offsets. Thevenin equivalent of the resistor portion of the circuit may be necessary.