Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Choosing a 32 Bit MCU

microkid

Nov 22, 2018
Ok so I know this is a very subjective topic and probably one that has been discussed at length. But I have a few (hopefully) more specific questions.

A bit of background first. I have been designing electronic products for 25+ years professionally, for various companies. In this time frame an 8 bit controller has been sufficient to cover all I have needed to do. Started off with Motorola and Intel parts before starting to use PICs circa 1996 (16C then 18F) which I still use today. Obviously in this time I have gotten to know not just the devices well but also Microchip as a company. I have found their technical support to be good, their literature, tools and software. To this end I have never felt the need to look elsewhere.

Now I have a project that requires a 32 Bit device, straight off I thought PIC32. However this has raised eyebrows from some of my overseas colleagues (I'm not being specific here) but they exclusively use Reneseas stuff. I have considered a 32 Bit Arm device but can't see what it would offer me that the Pic 32 won't?

Details wise the project is not power sensitive, nor does it need to be the ultimate in processing engines!

I have had 8 Bit designs rejected in the past because of using a PIC.

Am I missing something, are PIC devices seen as a bit Mickey mouse / hobbyist? Would it be a mistake to use one?

Thanks for your input!

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
If the hat fits........

Rejection of a design is usually on a cost and/or reliability basis - maybe even code security and potentially security of supply - but if all those criteria are met then I don't know why any development department would reject one - didn't they tell you why?

Do you (does the project) need 32-bits?