Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Building a simple clock

Nilius

Nov 19, 2013
Hi,

this is my first post, hope to post it into the right section.

I studied electronics many years ago, and now I am trying to return to my passion making some little circuits. The one I am willing to realize is a clock, to know what time is it.
I need for this a timing circuit, tuned on 1 Hz, then a set of counters that holds minutes and hours, the logic that implements 59 to 60 minute transition and 23 to 24 hour transition and 7 segments led to diplay it.
I have 3 questions, or, better, need 3 advices, since I am out of these things for years.

1 How to realize the 1Hz clock. I hava a 32K quarts, but I am not sure what IC choose to have a good precision while containing complexity and costs. Having a 32k clock and 14 frequency divisor should make a good 1Hz clock... but which astable to choose? 555? I don't want the clock to loose too many secs in a month.

2 To realize the display, I will have BCD data, and really don't want to use BCD to 7 segments decoder to have a littler board. Is there a 7 segment dislpay with BCD logic integrated, like TIL308, but CMOS, as all other components I have are CMOS technology?

3 Is it possible to program a PIC to control a clock, maybe with RTC, so I could add later some controls, like timing lights at home or similar things? Is it an overkill? Which PIC could be the simpler one (and less costly) to perform such a duty?

Hope not to be too noobish, or irritating with my questions. I really am out of business since eons.

Thanks for any suggestion

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
The CMOS 4060 will make a crystal oscillator and 14 stage divider all in one. The oscillator will need to be trimmed with a variable capacitor if high accuracy is required.

Nilius

Nov 19, 2013
Thanks

It sounds good. Very thanks!

So I assume using a PIC could be an overkill...