Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Backup External Power Circuit for Arduino Project

wrecks

Jul 16, 2013
Please review the attached schematic and let me know if it will work for the below described application.

I am making a locking electronic treasure box based on a home built perfboard Arduino. There will be an internal 9v power supply but I also wanted a way of "jump starting" the system and automatically opening it from the outside if the internal batter dies or if you simply forget the access code. So there will also be a way to supply an external "emergency" power supply (via a 9v or higher power source). When you supply power to the hidden external positive and negative leads the Arduino will power up and Pin 1 will go high, thereby automatically opening the box.

In order to save battery power I'm using a DC-DC switching power module that can take in anywhere from 7v to 28v and output 5v with up to 92% efficiency.

I'm an electronics beginner and I have pulled together the attached plan for my circuit from various places. Don't hold back and please let me know if I have hit the mark or royally screwed up. Thanks in advance for your help!

Attachments

• Power Circuit.jpg
    Power Circuit.jpg
    21.5 KB · Views: 1,998

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
The easiest way is to have a small hole somewhere that you can poke a straightened out paper clip into to unlatch the lock.

Beware that a DC-DC converter will draw some quiescent current. This might exceed the current the ATMega chip draws when in a power saving state.

There are some references on the net for getting minimal power consumption from your ATMega chip. Check them out.

A linear regulator with low quiescent current may be more efficient in the long term. Even more efficient is to make sure your battery voltage never exceeds the max voltage for the chip. Three AA cells might be the way to go.

wrecks

Jul 16, 2013
Thanks for the tips.