Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Audio Triggered AC light controller

RJM49

Jan 18, 2015
Hello All,

I'm sorry if this post breaks any rules or guidelines as I am brand new to your forums :)

I am very new to electronics to the extent that i've only ever done minor repair with lighting and audio equipment and some soldering.

What I am trying to do is create an audio triggered light controller with a basic 120v AC input and output. Basically the device will turn on a light connected through an edison plug in the presence of audio input via a microphone. Due to my inexperience and the complexity of this project, I opted for a pre-built module, unfortunately it wasn't exactly what I was expecting.

What I have a module that has the microphone and is rated and tested to 120v. The problem, and I know this is probably the most basic thing ever, but when dealing with higher voltage, I am always cautious, is that I am not sure how to configure or add Edison inputs and outputs to it.

Attached are the schematics and a photo of the device (sorry for the quality, my scanner is down)

Again, this might be the easiest thing in the world, but this is a new area for me and I've been shocked and friend more things that I'd care to admit, so I really wanted to some advice before proceeding.

Thank you!

Attachments

• 2015-01-17 18.13.45.jpg
    2015-01-17 18.13.45.jpg
    82.1 KB · Views: 159
  • 2015-01-17 18.14.20.jpg
    2015-01-17 18.14.20.jpg
    69.9 KB · Views: 133
  • 2015-01-17 18.14.38.jpg
    2015-01-17 18.14.38.jpg
    80.9 KB · Views: 116

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Hi there and welcome to Electronics Point :)

First, your module needs power. That version has been assembled with R13 made from two 10 kΩ resistors in parallel, giving a combined resistance of 5 kΩ, so it is designed to operate from 120VAC. The Phase side of this 120VAC supply must be connected to the black wire, and the Neutral to the white wire.