Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Apple Magsafe

LoboX

Jul 23, 2013
Sup all i am new to this forum, i have no knowledge whatsoever regarding electronics, i am more IT, but a friend of my that has $$$$ issues cant buy a new adapter so i am trying to see if i can fix his broken adapter.

I have been seeing YouTube and tutorials to learn about AC/DC and how to use a multimeter, i have learn quiet something cause i knew nothing.

1 question if a Power Adapter Magsafe or any other, is not giving you the correct output volt like 16.5v and is giving you 0.56 what could be the problem inside the board.

Any tips would be great.

Thanks

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Beware, because even after they've been turned off these devices can store a high voltage charge that will make you wish you'd never been born if you come into contact with it. If you're really unlucky it could kill you. With the power connected they can be lethal.

Having delivered the warning...

I would say it's borked.

Opening it up and showing us pictures of both sides of the board would be helpful.

Possibly more helpful would be for you to sniff around and see if you can locate an area of the board with any acrid smell. You may also see smoke residue on the inside of the case.

If you want to go further, take some sharp clear photos of both sides of the board with indirect light (outdoors, shade, NOT flash), Ensure we can read what is written on the components.

techiesteve

Jul 27, 2013