Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Adding indicator to remote door opener

Bikonja

May 4, 2012
Hello to all.

First of all I want to note that I'm not an electronics expert, far from it, but I'm a programmer. I recently found Amblone (a DIY Arduino based Ambilight project) and built it and even made myself another app that adds features to the project and detects my video player opening and closing and runs/shuts down the original Amblone program automatically.
So, I have a very basic understanding of electronics, with some soldering experience.

On to my question.
I have a remote gate opener. The remotes for the gate are in my house, my car, my mothers and my fathers car. The system has a light on top of the gate that blinks while the gate is being opened/closed. The remote does not have any such indicator. When coming from one side to my gate, I don't see it until I am almost right in front of it, so I often need to wait on the road while my gate opens, so I thought it would be nice if I had an indicator on my remote (or in my car somewhere) so I can press the button before I can see the gate and know if it cought the impulse and is opening.

Ofcourse, I don't depend on it, but it's a nice-to-have feature and I'm feeling up to tinkering around, I'm sure you know the feeling :)

So, I was thinking it would maybe be possible and easy to add an RF transmitter to the gate opener box, not sure how it works but ideally just hook it up to the light above the gate that already blinks and when the light is on, the transmitter transmits a signal, and then add the receiver to my car, hook it up to an LED and when it's receiving a signal, turn on the LED.

Now, as I said, I don't know that much about electronics in general, let alone this particular component - an RF transmitter (or something better suitable maybe?) and that's why I've come here to ask for opinions and help.

So, would it be possible to just hook it up easy like that, and if not, how would it work?