Maker Pro
Maker Pro

LED Aquarium light fixture

JBsHut

Aug 21, 2023
Hello All, please forgive me if this is not the right location for this thread.
I've been owning an aquarium light fixture for the past 8 years, and it has been working very well (72 pcs of SMD 5730: 62 white, four blue, four red and two green).
Lately, after about five minutes it turns off. None of the LEDs are burnt, but it takes about 15 minutes or so until I can reconnect it to the power supply and turn it for another five minutes. I assume that it has to do with the driver, which is connected to a whole bunch of buttons I've never used, as I power it and control it with a different unit (8 hours of light each day, only on\off).
So I've decided I'd like to bypass the driver. I know that the driver is the one in charge of the dimming capabilities, color adjustments, and protection mechanisms to prevent overcurrent, overvoltage, and other electrical issues that might arise, but I've had my experience and am willing to take the risk of burning through these LEDs (the alternative as I see it is tossing them and replacing them with a bunch of LED strips using the metallic fixture for the better heat exchanging).
So I tore through the fixture and found out that I have three outlets from the driver, marked + (quite obvious), W and B (less obvious).
Any recommendations as to what those mean?
Any tips in general? Thanks!

Attachments

• 3b079c9d-04a3-452c-934a-0407b77264f1.jpg
    3b079c9d-04a3-452c-934a-0407b77264f1.jpg
    119.8 KB · Views: 10
  • Screenshot 2023-08-21 175702.png
    Screenshot 2023-08-21 175702.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 9

JBsHut

Aug 21, 2023
One cannt bypass the driver.
Okay. Would you say that any off-the-shelf driver you know of could act as a replacement to the below? I'm having a hard time understanding what's the difference between the LED W and the B, I would have assumed 'White' and 'Blue' but we also have the green and red, and we'd be missing the ground.