Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Which Microcontrollers to get?

Pantsignal

Feb 26, 2016
Hi
I am still very new to embedded systems and the such, I am learning basics on an Arduino UNO.

I am getting eager to try and create a simple circuit off of the Arduino. I have some board to wire the components too. In fact I have all parts I need except for a microcontroller. I am not sure what I need to but to make a small project, lets say using Blink (blink and LED based on the software uploaded). How would I use a microcontroller on just a plain electronics board (not on the Arduino).

By 'palin board' I mean something like this
https://solarbotics.com/product/20932/

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
I am getting eager to try and create a simple circuit off of the Arduino. I have some board to wire the components too. In fact I have all parts I need except for a microcontroller. I am not sure what I need to but to make a small project, lets say using Blink (blink and LED based on the software uploaded). How would I use a microcontroller on just a plain electronics board (not on the Arduino).
You are aware of course that once you have used your PC to download a program to the Arduino, you can disconnect the Arduino USB cable and use the Arduino "standalone" as an embedded microprocessor? As @Bluejets mentioned, you can purchase a "clone" Arduino (it is an open-source design) very inexpensively, connect it to your PC for programming, and after that it does whatever you programmed it to do as an embedded microcomputer or microcontroller. If you need an area for prototyping external circuits, there is a prototyping "shield" available for the Arduino that you can do that on. The shield plugs into the female receptacles on the Arduino Uno, bringing power and signals to the shield.