VHF Repeater system

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects' started by LightShow, Feb 5, 2017.

  1. LightShow

    LightShow

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hello once again!

    Recently i got put in charge of redesigning an entire vhf repeater setup for an army cadet excercise. (i currently dont have any photos of the old setup SORRY!) the old setup was running on a 10 year old deep cycle battery which had completely lost its charge.. when the old system was first designed it was to keep the battery topped up using a charge regulator and a solar panel so that the repeater could be remotely positioned to send signal further allthough the solar panel was never used and the repeater ended up running off the battery charger!. the old system also didnt have any fuses at all

    so the new system ive designed caters for any situation that the repeater could be put in. we have ordered a new deep cycle battery and solar charge controller aswell as fuses for the charge controller and for the repeater. we would like to be able to literally flick a switch to go from using the battery to using a 12v power supply so that if the repeater does end up getting used at the base its not running off of the battery. could someone please advise the best way to connect this up / what components i need to be able to run the setup like this

    The repeater is a "kenwood tkr751 repeater"

    regards, Lightshow
     
    LightShow, Feb 5, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. LightShow

    donkey

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    brisbane australia
    ok so the question is how to select from 2 power sources?
    you can use a double throw switch. on the back will be 3 terminals or a factor thereof.
    find the contact that is common plug that to your vhf receiver, then 1 to the battery and one to the power supply

    battery ------>
    \________
    power supply----->

    the symbol above shows a simple diagram for you. you can use a dpdt and put both + and _ on the switch as long as they match up

    good luck
     
    donkey, Feb 6, 2017
    #2
    LightShow likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. LightShow

    LightShow

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thankyou for the response!
    yes that is basically what i was thinking i just wasnt sure...
    the wiring for the repeater is quite thick and bulky would there be a slightly more industrial version of the double throw switch??
     
    LightShow, Feb 6, 2017
    #3
  4. LightShow

    LightShow

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney
    would there be a way to check battery voltage from a remote location? just a side thought..
     
    LightShow, Feb 6, 2017
    #4
  5. LightShow

    davenn Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    11,301
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    that's and other info can and is often sent as a burst of data out on the repeater output freq. say once an hour. The repeater admin's can receive this and decode it
     
    davenn, Feb 6, 2017
    #5
  6. LightShow

    LightShow

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney
    basically i admin the repeater... how would i go about getting this data?
     
    LightShow, Feb 6, 2017
    #6
  7. LightShow

    davenn Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    11,301
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    sensors, microprocessor, interface to the repeater transmitter
     
    davenn, Feb 6, 2017
    #7
  8. LightShow

    LightShow

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney
    elaborate if you could??
     
    LightShow, Feb 6, 2017
    #8
  9. LightShow

    davenn Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    11,301
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia

    I cant .... do some googling ;)
     
    davenn, Feb 6, 2017
    #9
  10. LightShow

    LightShow

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney
    will do.
     
    LightShow, Feb 6, 2017
    #10
  11. LightShow

    CDRIVE Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    615
    Location:
    S. Florida USA
    You can use the ADC input of a PIC to measure the battery voltage. This data can be outputted by the PIC in Serial Packets and transmitted via FSK.

    You can even have the PIC output your battery data as Morse Code. Something like this...

    Chris
    upload_2017-2-6_20-17-38.png
     
    CDRIVE, Feb 7, 2017
    #11
    davenn likes this.
  12. LightShow

    LightShow

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney
    ahhh Great!!
    thankyou..
    would there be a way to recieve the data in number form? like on a screen? incase the operator doesnt have knowledge of morse
     
    LightShow, Feb 7, 2017
    #12
  13. LightShow

    davenn Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    11,301
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    decode the morse with a PIC and display on a one or two line LCD
     
    davenn, Feb 7, 2017
    #13
  14. LightShow

    LightShow

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney
    ahh gotcha okay the whole battery voltage thing will probably be implemented by sometime next year.. for now we are going for simplicity charge controller solar panel etc.

    something that i am a little curious about though is how many fuses i should implement whether having seperate ones for the power supply and the battery or just having one on the output to the repeater
     
    LightShow, Feb 7, 2017
    #14
  15. LightShow

    davenn Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    11,301
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    if you didn't want to go the PIC decode way ... the Morse only needs to be simple

    HI = .... .. = high voltage
    OK = --- -.- = good voltage
    LO = .-.. --- = low voltage

    that wouldn't be too difficult to learn and remember ;)
    there's really no need to monitor the exact voltage

    Dave
     
    davenn, Feb 8, 2017
    #15
  16. LightShow

    LightShow

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney
    yeah that will probably ill look into it next year when the training starts up again :p
     
    LightShow, Feb 8, 2017
    #16
  17. LightShow

    CDRIVE Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    615
    Location:
    S. Florida USA
    Actually, I suggested sending Morse code because too many hams have forgotten or for that matter, never learned to copy it in the first place. I thought it would be good for them to hear it on a regular basis. :)

    On that note I'm curious. Doesn't your repeater transmit its call sign with Morse code periodically?

    Chris
     
    CDRIVE, Feb 8, 2017
    #17
  18. LightShow

    davenn Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    11,301
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    if it is an amateur one ... it is supposed to, but the OP hasn't specified that .... only commented about some cadet thing ... what ever the heck that is ??
     
    davenn, Feb 8, 2017
    #18
  19. LightShow

    CDRIVE Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4,767
    Likes Received:
    615
    Location:
    S. Florida USA
    Yeah, I forgot that and as you mention I think we'd all like to know "what ever the heck that is". :confused:
    LightShow hails from your neck of the woods. I sincerely doubt that Australia lets anyone who wants to put a repeater on the air do so unregulated.
    Chris
     
    CDRIVE, Feb 8, 2017
    #19
  20. LightShow

    davenn Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    11,301
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    very very true .... strongly regulated
     
    davenn, Feb 8, 2017
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Mark Atanovich

    Low budget in-house cellular repeater project questions

    Mark Atanovich, Jan 4, 2004, in forum: Electronic Basics
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    497
    Michael A. Terrell
    Jan 5, 2004
  2. andy

    passive mobile phone repeater

    andy, Aug 15, 2004, in forum: Electronic Basics
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    590
    Joe McElvenney
    Aug 15, 2004
  3. jondoeengineer@hotmail.com

    Infrared remote control repeater circuit

    jondoeengineer@hotmail.com, Apr 16, 2005, in forum: Electronic Basics
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,626
    stratus46@yahoo.com
    Apr 20, 2005
  4. Haritztolete

    Encoder TTL pulse train multichannel repeater

    Haritztolete, Aug 8, 2006, in forum: Electronic Basics
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,422
    Chris
    Aug 8, 2006
  5. James Meyer

    ethernet repeater chip?

    James Meyer, Apr 1, 2004, in forum: Electronic Design
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    3,451
    James Meyer
    Apr 3, 2004
  6. mc

    Passive cell phone repeater?

    mc, Aug 16, 2006, in forum: Electronic Design
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    908
  7. Paul Landregan

    Mobile Phone Repeater

    Paul Landregan, Sep 28, 2003, in forum: Electronic Repair
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    632
    **THE-RFI-EMI-GUY**
    Oct 3, 2003
  8. Steve P
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    2,491
    John Hutchison
    Jan 27, 2005
Loading...