Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Vertical hold problem with dvd player

Cubbie

Dec 1, 2010
Hey guys. I'm new here and although I'm not completely stupid about electronics, I am new to trying to repair things. I decided to take a deluxe piece of crap Coby dvd player as a learning project. I know it's not really worth fixing, but I figured if I screw it up to the point of no return it won't be a big loss.

Anyway, it just has a general vertical hold problem with no color in the picture, just black and white. It rolls all the time, not just while playing dvds. The audio is there and it plays dvds, the vertical hold is the only problem. It seems like a sync issue, right?

I opened it up and gave it a visual inspection. Nothing looks bad. Nothing is burnt out, nothing is busted or loose. So what I need is somebody to point me in the right direction. What do I need to test? Where should I start? I've tried a lot of Googling but I haven't found anything yet that addresses my particular issue.

Thanks to anybody who helps me out. I'm just trying to learn something new here but I don't have anyone around to help me get started.

I look forward to learning from everyone here and hopefully soon I can learn enough to help out others as well.

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Could it be an NTSC/PAL issue? I recall that one shows as B&W when you attempt to view it on a TV of the opposite type.

But I may be way off base here.

Cubbie

Dec 1, 2010
Could it be an NTSC/PAL issue? I recall that one shows as B&W when you attempt to view it on a TV of the opposite type.

But I may be way off base here.

Thanks for the reply, but I tried that already. It switches between the two but the roll continues regardless. It stays in b/w as well when I switch between them. So I guess that's out.

Nothing on the inside looks fried and none of the connections are loose. I'm stumped but that's to be expected since I don't completely know what I'm doing yet. :)

Cubbie

Dec 1, 2010