Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Using PNP or NPN Transistor as a switch

The Big Idea

Nov 8, 2017
Ok, so first off let me tell you I am a complete newbie when it comes to electronics. AC is WAY beyond me but I do, somewhat, understand DC circuits. I installed my own stereo with an amp and two subwoofers when I was in high school. I also built the box for the woofers which I am much more inclined to do. Anyhow, I have started the journey into small electronics. My knowledge comes down to this: I just recently discovered that I can control direction of the flow! WHAT?!!!! A DIODE! Yes, my friends that is where I am... a lowly diode. That was the spark (pun intended) I needed to get me interested in the world of electricity. SO here it goes:

12V 5A AC/DC power supply (8 DC barrel plug connectors)

First DC Channel powers a Sonoff 4ch Wifi Switch

Second DC Channel I use a DC terminal barrel with (+) going to the NO side of the relay and the (-) to the NC side

To run the Pump I am required to tie CH 1 relay and CH 2 relay (+) and (-) together

So, CH 1 COM is now (+) and CH 2 COM is now (-)

I have run CH 2 COM (-) to a grounding bar

CH 1 COM (+) Lead...................................................................?

?............................................ I have a pump that will draw about 1.5A 1500ma when activated.

So, I am trying to use a 12V PNP Digital pressure switch to provide some automation when I activate the circuit. I want it to tell the pump to kick on basically. The output channel is only 80ma though. Here is where I am stuck but have an answer I think. Like I said I'm very new to this.

Plan to supply the Pressure Switch with its own DC source from the 8CH power supply.