Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Using 12v UPS battery for Arduino testbed

Graham

Nov 10, 2009
Hi all - I'm relatively new to messing about with electronics, but very enthusiastic :)
I've just ordered myself an Arduino (well, a cheap Chinese knock-off anyway), with a breadboard and 20x4 LCD, to build myself a little testbed to start playing with some basic projects.
I know that the Arduino has a built in voltage regulator and have read that it can cope with an input of up to 20v (though that's probably going to generate a substantial amount of heat...!), so I have a couple of mains supplies (a 9v 1A, and a 12v 1A) that I can use for it, but I also have access to a number of 12v UPS lead-acid batteries, and was thinking about using one of those as a 'free' supply. I imagine one of those would be able to run my little projects for weeks at a time before needing recharging, but was wondering about maybe linking it up to a solar panel to keep it trickle topped up - for free again (are you sensing a theme emerging here?)
Does anyone have any experience running small Arduino projects from high capacity batteries? Are there any 'gotchas' I should be aware of? I am wondering about the wisdom of having 12v with a potentially high amperage available on the Arduino board at Vin - should I use a separate regulator at the battery, to reduce it to 9v and a safer amperage before it even reaches the Arduino and the on-board regulator?
Also, can you point me at a beginners guide to trickle charging lead-acid batteries from solar panels? I've seen charge controllers advertised at anything from $20 to $200 but don't know what the differences are, and also read somewhere that for a low wattage panel, you don't even need one - so I'd be grateful for some insight into the matter.
Many thanks in advance
Graham

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014