Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Understanding impedance

Rajinder

Jan 30, 2016
Hi,
I am a relative novice in Electronics. I can never truly understand the meaning of impedance. I understand it is a measure of resistance at AC (which includes inductance and capacitor reactance.
What I can't understand is when I here for example
'This circuit has an input impedance of 10K'
Does that mean that anything connecting to this must have a lower impedance to not load the input?
Similarly, I hear stuff like 'the PIC microcontroller A/D has a input source impedance of 10K'
Again does that mean what I am connecting must have a lower resistance?

Similarly I have a problem of understanding output impedance and how it interacts with input impedance. Can someone help me understand preferably with a worked example?
Thanks in advance
Raj

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
The first thing is that the non-resistive portion of impedance is frequency dependent, so the impedance is given at the operating frequency.

If you have some device with an unloaded output of x volts and an impedance of y ohms driving an input with an impedance of z ohms, the voltage seen by the input is the same as that if you have a voltage of x volts applied to a voltage divider composed of two resistances y and z ohms (the voltage would be measured across the resistor z.

Some outputs will have a level defined as if they are driving an assumed load. For example an RF signal generator might be designed with a 50 ohm impedance to drive 50 ohm coax into a 50 ohm load. An output level of 1 volt will measure 2 volts if there is no load present.

Rajinder

Jan 30, 2016
So if I have a voltage divider with say 2 x20K resistors, the output taken from the bottom resistor. Then the input impedance of the other circuit must be greater than 10 X the 20K resistor do the output voltage is not dropped or loaded. This is my basic understanding.
But I still don't understand.

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010