Trying to repair our VFD

Discussion in 'Electronics Repair' started by Dan00, Mar 20, 2017.

  1. Dan00

    Dan00

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone

    we had a ABB ach550 used for pump and accidentally my co worker splashed some water and after checking it the drive wont turn on my question is how would i know the brand or type of ic we had on this board theres only number printed on it 314 241 any info would be great and also im new to the forum

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    • ic.jpg
      ic.jpg
      File size:
      3.6 KB
      Views:
      35
    Dan00, Mar 20, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Dan00

    73's de Edd

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,697
    Likes Received:
    538
    Location:
    Texas
    3.6 kb density won't cut it on that photo.
    If using Cmos circuity in that area, are you sure that water hasn't seeped and creeped and is still having moisture / wetness hidden?
    Try a heating of the potentially affected area with a blow dryer

    73's de Edd
     
    73's de Edd, Mar 21, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Dan00

    davenn Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    12,114
    Likes Received:
    1,407
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    please post a much larger pic .... say around 800 x 600 so that we can see what you are referring to
     
    davenn, Mar 21, 2017
    #3
  4. Dan00

    shrtrnd

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444
    Likes Received:
    402
    Location:
    Arizona
    The next time you splash water on a printed circuit board, DO NOT reapply power until you use 73's de Edd's advice on COMPLETELY drying the PCB. The water didn't zap your device by itself, reapplying power to a wet board did.
    Why are you convinced the IC (that we can't see in your photo) is the problem?
    I used to work ABB VFDs. They've got engineers at the factory that know what that chip is if you don't have a schematic. (If you talk to a cooperative one) Your number is a proprietary one known only to ABB, and they'll want you to send the board to them for repair or replacement. Did you try Googleing cross references for ABB part numbers? Frankly, I'm trying to figure-out how you determined that this one IC is the problem.
    If it is blown, it may have taken-out other components on the board as well.
     
    shrtrnd, Mar 21, 2017
    #4
  5. Dan00

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    23,031
    Likes Received:
    2,042
    Location:
    Mid way between Beijing and the Ronne Ice Shelf
    It seems to have chunks missing
     
    (*steve*), Mar 21, 2017
    #5
  6. Dan00

    shrtrnd

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444
    Likes Received:
    402
    Location:
    Arizona
    Are you kidding *steve*?
    I could barely see the IC.
    How in the heck could I see missing pieces of it?
    My 10 1/2" x 18" computer monitor isn't big enough?
    What're you using, one of those big-screen jobs?
    I need to get me one of those. Couldn't be my old worn-out peepers, just got me a new pair of glasses.
     
    shrtrnd, Mar 21, 2017
    #6
  7. Dan00

    Alec_t

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,940
    Likes Received:
    520
    Location:
    Wales
    The blown chip has no heatsink so would normally have been dissipating little power. Its dramatic demise is probably a side-effect of something else drawing excessive current.
     
    Alec_t, Mar 21, 2017
    #7
  8. Dan00

    Dan00

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    IMAG0027.jpg
    my apologies heres the full image as i have checked the fuses and other parts were ok. also im convinced that this part needs to be replaced as the the first pin from the left showed some corrosion and missing pin Service technician came and didnt even bother checking only suggested to install whole new unit sir shrtrnd do you have schematics for this model ? sir 73's i have checked and disassembled the whole unit no moisture observed in the inner part just this ic showed some issue

    thanks
     
    Dan00, Mar 21, 2017
    #8
  9. Dan00

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    23,031
    Likes Received:
    2,042
    Location:
    Mid way between Beijing and the Ronne Ice Shelf
    The chunks I saw appear to be marks on a conformal coating.

    Your first task now is to identify what is written on that chip. From this view we can't see anything. Maybe you can if the lighting is coming from another angle. Maybe the markings have been removed :-(
     
    (*steve*), Mar 21, 2017
    #9
  10. Dan00

    Dan00

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi steve theres only number written on it 314 241. maybe my best option is desolder this ic and show it to the parts store.
     
    Dan00, Mar 21, 2017
    #10
  11. Dan00

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    23,031
    Likes Received:
    2,042
    Location:
    Mid way between Beijing and the Ronne Ice Shelf
    That sounds like an internal part number. These are used to obscure the part that is being used and/or to integrate with an internal parts system.

    You can look for a cross reference. Companies like HP would occasionally include relevant information in their service manuals, for others they were completely proprietry.
     
    (*steve*), Mar 21, 2017
    #11
  12. Dan00

    Alec_t

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,940
    Likes Received:
    520
    Location:
    Wales
    The component to the left of that IC looks unhealthy, too.
     
    Alec_t, Mar 21, 2017
    #12
  13. Dan00

    shrtrnd

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444
    Likes Received:
    402
    Location:
    Arizona
    No, sorry, I don't have the schematics on an ach550.
    Again, you might try getting them from ABB (or Google them).
    ... I realize you're convinced this one IC is your problem. How did you determine that?
    From visual inspection?
    Have you got more than one of these boards, maybe in another on-site VFD.
    Can you compare voltage test points and determine exactly where the failure is?
     
    shrtrnd, Mar 22, 2017
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. anjolina

    see how to repair and maintain our pc by ouerselves

    anjolina, Apr 15, 2007, in forum: Electronic Basics
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    503
    Jon Slaughter
    Apr 15, 2007
  2. Soundsight
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    659
    nitish kumar sinha
    Aug 16, 2016
  3. TonsdonSwitch

    Trying to get alarm horn to sound

    TonsdonSwitch, Aug 10, 2016, in forum: Electronics Homework Help
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    371
    dynamo
    Dec 3, 2016
  4. Tshewang

    trying to repair a table light

    Tshewang, Sep 29, 2016, in forum: Electronics Repair
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    191
    shrtrnd
    Sep 29, 2016
  5. jishak
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    459
    Harald Kapp
    Nov 1, 2016
  6. seanspotatobusiness

    Confused by circuit. A to B and B to C implies A to C?

    seanspotatobusiness, Feb 14, 2017, in forum: Electronic Projects
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    237
    davenn
    Feb 15, 2017
  7. Chuck Cooper
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    144
    davenn
    Mar 1, 2017
  8. Floly_lolye

    Trying to repair my power supply

    Floly_lolye, Mar 20, 2017, in forum: Electronics Repair
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    162
    Floly_lolye
    Mar 21, 2017
Loading...