Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Trying To Modify A Radio

Status
Not open for further replies.

EdFab

May 4, 2017
I’ve got a Jensen armband radio, model SAB-55A [LE], that I would like to modify. My level of electronic knowledge is very rusty. I was an electronic technician in the navy years ago, but I’ve probably forgotten more than I know, and I was never very knowledgeable about RF circuits. I’ve uploaded 4 photos, the front and back of the radio, and two photos showing the circuit board.

The way this radio normally works is that when you depress either the ‘down’ or ‘up’ TUNER button, the sound will cut out and the radio will scan through the band until the button is released, at which time it will continue to scan, finally stopping when it locks on to a good signal, and then the sound comes back. If you keep the button depressed long enough, it will reach the end of the band’s frequency range, then jump to the ‘other’ end of the band (the high end for the ‘down’ button, for example) and continue scanning. As long as the button is depressed, the radio will keep scanning through the band, and there is no sound.

What I want to do is modify the radio so that it will ALWAYS scan through the frequencies, not having to depress the TUNER for this to happen, and I want to hear the sound (noise as it’s scanning between stations, music as it’s scanning through a station).

I don’t have a schematic for this radio. I really have no idea how it’s doing what it’ doing. But there are some things I think I have figured out: