Any advice?

• solution

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • change

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Phil Dee

Oct 12, 2017
I am new to hobbyist electronics. I have followed a pir circuit and been able to activate a linear reed relay that will operate a new different circuit; pir activates and starts a dashcam recording. The problem I have now is that I want to count how many times the pir activates. I have followed a circuit for a 7 segment display that will increment the display one digit at a time (more times than not) as a single digit and a two digit circuit, with a reset button. I am now trying to mix the two circuits together to get an accurate count of the activations. The problem is, the pulse that comes from the first circuit is not quick enough to give one increment on the display. Obviously I am not understanding the word PULSE, I am trying to get each TRIGGERING to act as one pulse, if you catch my drift, and this is the limit of my knowledge, please educate me a little in order for this old man, 68, to complete a project, thanks. I have attached a drawing (in a fashion) of both circuits and the connection point that I am trying to use. Please keep it simple like me.BothCircuits.png

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
the pulse that comes from the first circuit is not quick enough to give one increment on the display.
Next to impossible. A relay is muuuuuuch slower than a CMOS counter. Your problem is elsewhere.

1. Is the relay activated? You should hear it click when the pir sensor becomes active.
  2. If so, does the signal from the relay arrive at the counter IC? You can check this easily by using e.g. 470 Ω for the resistor from pin 1 of the 4026 to 0 V and putting an LED in series with this resistor. You should now see the LED off when the relay is off, the LED on when the relay is on.