Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Total Electronics Novice In Need Of Power Supply Advice

Paul Short

May 10, 2018
Hi All

Newbie here in need of some advice regarding using an UK mains AC/DC adaptor with a device that has had it's power supply wiring chewed through by a rabbit! I'll explain as best as I can, but as the title suggests I am a novice as far as electronics is concerned, so I apologise in advance it none of his makes sense.

Ok, I has a device that needs the following power input:

7.5V - 12V and 0.8A to 0.5A

I have an UK mains AC/DC adaptor that has a switchable voltage supply and switchable polarity. The voltage options are 3, 4.5, 6, 7.5, 9 and 12. The adaptor states that that the amperage output ranges from 300mA to 3.6VA.

I have tested the adaptor polarity switch is set correctly by testing the adaptor on a similar device to the one I want to actually use the adaptor with, that I wasn't too worried about blowing up. I put the adaptor at 12V, which the label of the test device says it needs, and tested and it powers up the device fine.

So now comes using the adaptor with the device I actually want to use. What voltage should I set the adaptor to, bearing in mind the device says it needs between 7.5V to 12V? Also, am I right in thinking that the device will only draw the amperage from the adaptor it needs to function, and if so, would that mean the adaptor is fine to use with the device?

I hope that all makes sense and I would really appreciate any advice and comments you have on this query.

Many thanks in advance.

dave9

Mar 5, 2017
Yes the device will only draw the current it needs which means that you could use a power adapter rated higher (in mA or A) than the device, not lower.

Your power adapter isn't capable of enough current at 300mA. It's probably unregulated, has a multi-tap transformer inside to achieve the different voltage outputs so it will not be able to reach 500mA at 12V, nor 800mA at 7.5V.