Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Stepping up the voltage for a Geiger Counter

Xobtah

Oct 16, 2017
Hi!

I'm very new to electronics, I made few projects to get used to it, and I'd like to make a Geiger counter since I alreay have the SBM-20 tube, so the only thing I need to make it work is to figure out a way to put 400v from 5v into it (then it's more or less coding sutff left, and I'm a programmer, so it's all good).

I'd like to have your opinion on boards like this:
https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/Boos...ersion-radiation-sensor-400V/32729871570.html
Do you think it may be a scam?

Otherwise if you have any other suggestions for another board, or an efficient way for a beginner to do so, I'll take it.

Thank you very much for your attention!

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Most here are English speaking so perhaps find a site to link to that is the same.

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
This module may well work a expected. It seems to consist of an oscillator to generate an AC voltage from the DC input, a small transformer and a voltage multiplier to step up the voltage.
There's no information on the max. output current you can draw. This converter is probably good for a (very) few mA only.
Note that the description contains a disclaimer "de huidige output van de hoge belasting niet worden gegarandeerd op alle tijden" which I read as "there's no guarantee that the initial output voltage will be delivered in the long term".

Note that 400 V is a very dangerous voltage level, even with current being small. Always ensure that the required safety measures are in place. Having a second person nect to you who can interrupt power and give 1st aid in case of an acident is imho a good idea.

dorke

Jun 20, 2015
Here is another option(adjustable).
Have no idea if it is any good.
Do you have the datasheet of the tube in English,especially the current ?

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
Do you think it may be a scam?
No, it's unlikely to be a scam.