Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Sound triggered LED project

softtissue

Sep 17, 2014
Hi everyone, how's it going?
I am an art student and I know pretty much nothing about electronics :( But recently I am super interested in it. That's why I want to put an LED circuit on a sculpture that I'm working on. The leds will also pulse to music. Here's the idea GIF
BjeKYPS.gif

direct link in case it doesn't show up http://i.imgur.com/BjeKYPS.gif

it's a neuron cell, the leds show the pulse that goes through it. I found many tuts online but they only showed how to build a circuit with a couple leds.
Thanks guys

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
How will it pulse to the music?
This can easily be built with discrete components with a 555 timer and some decade counters, but the music pulse thing may complicate it.

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
You can get 15 outputs from a PIC16F628 is that enough?
Yes and No. Depends on the exact functions you want.
Using all of the IOs on a PIC can allow you to multiplex 56 channels. (56 LEDs, or groups)
You will need to spend some time programming the PIC so that it can manipulate each led by toggling a unique combination of pins. You can make it appear that all LEDs are lit by very very quickly flashing multiple LEDs. Sorry if you understand multiplexing already, but it helps sometimes to recap.
This would be the ideal solution to make your LEDs flash or pulse with music depending on the patterns you want for music.
Other than that, the animation you posted is extremely simple and can be made with discrete components which would allow the LEDs to be controlled individually and not require being multiplexed.

So, I ask you:
-Do you want to keep the electronics simpler, but complicate code,
or
-Do you want to make the electronics a little more complex and forget about coding?

(Pulsing... or triggering the synaps to fire on a beat from music can be done with discrete components too. More complex animations would require the PIC)

softtissue

Sep 17, 2014