Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Simple Low Frequency Sound Generator

Status
Not open for further replies.

Clemson2019

Feb 19, 2018
Hey hope everyone is well.

I’m trying to build a small frequency generator that outputs through a 10W speaker. I need it to output exactly 128 Hz. I’ve done a bit of research, and from my understanding I need an oscillator. What is the most simple way to build this on a breadboard? Where should I look for schematics? I’m pretty new to this all.

Thanks!

Kabelsalat

Jul 5, 2011
Hi.

You'll ned both an oscillator and amplifier for this task. Do you have other criterias then just the frequencies ?

Last edited by a moderator:

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
128Hz is readily derived from a standard crystal of 32.768kHz (i.e. a 'watch' crystal) using binary dividers.
Then feed the resultant 128Hz to a simple audio amplifier - add a filter to 'smooth' the squarewave if you feel it needs it.

Here's a simple oscillator/divider with a 2Hz output but you need only tap off a different output pin on the 4060 device (get the datasheet for the CD4060 to see which pin number you need to use for 128Hz)

clock-crystal-4060B-time-base-circuit.jpg

Last edited:

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
You don't specify a waveform. Different ones will sound quite different.

Bob

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
Sinusoid Waveform
Then, if you use the binary divider approach from a 32.768 kHz crystal-controlled oscillator, you will need to follow that with either a narrow band-pass filter tuned to 128 Hz, or a low-pass filter that attenuates the higher frequency harmonic content of the square waves. Either way, ten watts of 128 Hz sinusoidal audio will be very disturbing to hear from any reasonably efficient loudspeaker with a properly ducted enclosure.