Maker Pro
Maker Pro

sensor help?

karlos

Jan 18, 2017
Hey,

I'm currently doing an ONC engineers course in electrical engineering and I'm looking for some advice about sensors.

For my project I am designing a low budget goal line technology system and part of my product design specification process (I don't have to build the product as part of my course work) requires me to identify three methods in which a goal line system could work, and then select one for my final design.

So, for my first design I'm looking into using RF sensors in the ball.

But for my other two ideas I was wondering if anyone knows of a sensor that reacts to a specific colour, should I set the football as this specific colour. And finally how could I use an IR sensor to work in my system.

A point in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. I am a complete novice when it comes to electronics.

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
The cheapest way to sense when a soccer ball crosses the entrance plane of the goal cage would be to photograph the goal in real time with one or more video camera(s) having a sufficiently high frame rate. Then use real-time digital image processing of sequential frames to determine when the ball crosses the goal line. This is not a new idea, but until recently the computing "horsepower" to accomplish goal-detection in real time, rather than post-processing the data, has not been readily available at the consumer level.

If video real-time detection of goals appears attractive to you, read this paper to get started down that road. All you need is some inexpensive video cameras, a modern personal gaming computer, and a little software. Well... a LOT of software, actually, but you did say you didn't need to build it, just describe it.