Maker Pro
Maker Pro

seeking some advice/knowledge relating to RF communication

Cona

Oct 2, 2014
Hello!
I would like to ask a question regarding the abilities of RF communication.
I am looking at making a little project/device that would be capable of sending a distress signal over a RF.
The objective is to create a small device that has the ability to send a small piece of information (such as gps coordinates) to a recipient. The environment in which this device would be situated in is my major hurdle; which would be a state forest/land reserve.
Would it be possible to to send the mentioned information over a relatively dense environment for 5-10km?
or is it simply impossible given the following requirements..(I am not very experienced in RF technology)
- The device would need to be small (handheld).
- The device would need to be battery operated.
- The device would also need to power a gps.

Would something like this achieve this, they state that it has a 7-10km range, but the environmental factors would adversely affect this.
SO if anyone has any other products that would match this form factor and exceed in range, please let me know.

http://www.csgshop.com/product.php?id_product=86

Regards,
Connor

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
hi Connor
welcome to Electronics Point :)

that device would be 7 - 70 km under near line of sight condition and possible with a directional antenna ( a yagi)
you would be limited to a low gain whip antenna and foliage absorption would be reasonably high ( very high if it was wet with rain etc)
you may only get a couple of km at best

You would also have to check with your local authorities ( I don't know what country you are in ??)
to make sure that you can legally use it at that power level without a licence

cheers
Dave

Cona

Oct 2, 2014
hi Connor
welcome to Electronics Point :)

that device would be 7 - 70 km under near line of sight condition and possible with a directional antenna ( a yagi)