SAF-C167CR-LM HA+ MCU

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers, Programming and IoT' started by shady, Jan 8, 2017.

  1. shady

    shady

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've been trying the fix a controller unit for some time now, so far i've replaced a few blown and shorted parts and now the board is powering up now. However, one of the mosfet is not switching on, I noticed that there wasn't a signal coming to the gate, which comes from SAFC167CR-LM HA+ MCU (Pin 19). I can replace the MCU but the real question is do these MCU have specific codes programmed to them or i can just replace the MCU without programming anything?
     
    shady, Jan 8, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. shady

    Bluejets

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    2,434
    Likes Received:
    474
    It requires programming.
    However, before you go changing microcontrollers, usually there is some input that writes to the micro requesting the mosfet be turned on.
    Have you looked at what that might be?
     
    Bluejets, Jan 9, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. shady

    shady

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    5
    I think this where i give up because I have no idea what enables the output to pin 19.
     
    shady, Jan 9, 2017
    #3
  4. shady

    tedstruk

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Toledo Washington
    usually signal fires it. itw where and when the signal comes from, if there is power at the power pin and ground at the ground pin the chip is enabled.
     
    tedstruk, Jan 10, 2017
    #4
  5. shady

    shady

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    5
    Actually found the root of the problem, faulty diode. The signal from the MCU was fed through a driver then to the mosfet, while diode was connected directly to the gate of the mosfet.
     
    shady, Jan 10, 2017
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.