Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Rotary Switch

Sadlercomfort

Ash
Feb 9, 2013
Hi Guys,

I'm looking for a Rotary Switch on F@rnell to use for a project.. I've never used one before so the terminology is confusing me slightly.

Rotary_Encoder_Signal_1024x516.jpg

I understand the concept, but dont understand things like n.o of poles, switch positions and angle of throw.

I need one that clicks in aswell. This will be used to control an LCD Menu Interface so dont need anything complicated. Just something like the above graph.

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
That is known as a quadrature encoder, the pulses are 90deg apart, it is used for speed and direction and is rated in pulses/rev, this number applies to either chA or chB, not both additively.
That may not be the type you are looking for?
M.

dorke

Jun 20, 2015
Here are some links that may help you:
Poles and Throws
In rotary switches Angles

BTW,
you can use a simple momentary SPST push button for controlling menus.
They are much smaller and cheaper.

Sadlercomfort

Ash
Feb 9, 2013
Thanks :) I've used push buttons before.. now want to try a rotary encoder. A little bigger but only need one so use much lets space.

I'm not sure what type I need

dorke

Jun 20, 2015
Yes,
you do need to define your requirements before you can select a switch.
Will this switch be the only one used?
In what manner? etc.

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
Hi Guys,

I need one that clicks in aswell. This will be used to control an LCD Menu Interface so dont need anything complicated. Just something like the above graph.
Why do you need a quad encoder, it could be done either with a simple single wafer multi position switch, there is also coded versions such as BCD etc if needed .
M.

Sadlercomfort

Ash
Feb 9, 2013