Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Resiter Divider / Resister Watt ratings

DaveEP

May 1, 2017
First post.

While I've been designing digital electronics stuff for probably 20+ years I've never really spent much time in the analog world, so sorry if this is a really noob question!

I need to step down voltage from (up to) 25v to 5v so I can run it in to an A/D converter on an Arduino. I was planning on doing this with a resister divider until I realised that the power source (Solar Panel) is producing up to 100 watts @ 22.5 volts.

Do the resister values need to be spec'd for the source power (e.g. 100 watt Solar Panel) or how much the input on the Arduino will actually draw? In other words am I looking at needing 100+ watt resisters or will lower values do quite happily?

Other solution suggestions also welcome.

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
Do the resister values need to be spec'd for the source power (e.g. 100 watt Solar Panel) or how much the input on the Arduino will actually draw?
Mostly, the input draw of the Arduino. Using Ohm's Law, you can calculate that a 5:1 divider made up of 4 ohms and 1 ohm produces the same output voltage as one made up of 400K and 100K, but the series current in the latter divider is 100,000 times less.