Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Recapping pc motherboards.

486dx33

Nov 14, 2018
I bought myself a desoldering gun so I would be able to recap old pc motherboards. Today I started practicing removing capacitors on some scrap pc motherboards. I managed to remove about dozen of them, but the holes in the motherboard are not very clean and it might be difficult to put new capacitors there.

Anyone has any advice on what is the best way to remove components from those multilayer pc motherboards. What kind of temperature I should use with the soldering gun and how long I should be holding the tip of the desoldering gun on the legs of the capacitors before I try to suck the solder out of the hole?

I will keep on practicing before I desolder anything on pc motherboards that I want to keep, but I would appreciate any help that would make the desoldering results cleaner.

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
Quite often it is easier and less damaging to simply 'crush' and snip/remove the remains of the old capacitor and solder a new one to the leads that remain.
Not pretty but it works.
Depends on how proficient you get with the desoldering tool.

Personally I would remove the capacitor using the tool and then use additional flux and de-soldering braid to clean up the area. The balance between getting it tidy and lifting copper track/pads is a delicate one.

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Helps to add new tin/lead solder (60/40) to each joint before even thinking about removing the old one.
Kellyseye approach the quickest easy way.
I have done the "remove and replace" in the past way back when but even then, hardly worth the effort.

486dx33

Nov 14, 2018
It is worth to me if I spend hours changing capacitors and end up with a working motherboard. That is why I got the desoldering gun. I am just trying to find out information what temperatures, what kind of tip to use with the soldering gun and generally what is the best way to use it when desoldering pc motherboards.

Kabelsalat

Jul 5, 2011