Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Reading from 4 identical sensors using a Raspberry Pi...

Netizensmith

Jun 9, 2017
Hi, total electronics noob here. Am slowly teaching myself the basics but current project dictates that i must run before I can walk!

I have 4 proximity sensors (VCNL4010) that can be controlled using I2C. However, they are have the same address and the address cannot be changed. The Pi only has 1 (maybe 2?) I2C so I need a way to cycle through each sensor and read it.

Software is my thing so i can write the code needed to get the job done; what I'm stuck on is the best way to connect the hardware. Initial investigations point to using 4 transistors to control the current getting to each sensor so that only 1 is alive at any one time. Does that sound right? Is there a neater way to do it?

I currently have an ExplorerHat Pro sat on top of the Pi. I've done this because it gives me a nice way to control 2 motors and also neatly labelled pins for the I2C stuff.

Any advice appreciated!

Last edited:

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
You can use two digital ports to drive a 2-4 line encoder and select each device from the encoder output. Saves on two ports if that's a particular issue for you.

Netizensmith

Jun 9, 2017
Had an idea this evening that I could just use the 4 output (5v tolerant) pins (which sink to ground when ON) to cycle power each sensor. Initial tests showed that if I wired a sensor to SDA and SCL and 5v in, with the GND set to one of the output pins then yes - when the output pin was set to OFF I got an error trying to access the sensor, but if I turned the pin ON then I could access the sensor correctly. Hurrah I thought. So, next step was to set up the other 3 sensors in the same way. However, supplying any more than 1 sensor with 5v AND plugging in the SDA and SCL pins causes ALL sensors to be unreadable, even if 3 of them have the GND hooked up to an output pin set to OFF and only one has it set to ON.