Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Ray Jefferson Model 155 Marine Battery Charger

johnbkobb

Mar 11, 2014
Its vintage is circa 1989 according to the PC board inside. I have no schematic for it so I am in the process of trying to draw one with Free "Express PCB Electronics Design Software". I'm having a few problems though. I really do not know everything there is to know about electronics.
Some of the components on the board I cannot identify so I look for the numbers and google them and download the datasheets if I can find them and look for their electronic diagram. In the components list in the program many of the components are not listed, but some are.

My question is does anyone use this program for circuit design? I'm not an engineer, just a retiree trying to learn a little more about electronics and keep myself busy. Is there another free program like this that would be more user friendly. I've tried to use Proteus 8 Demo but after all the work I did with trying to make a schematic of the Model 155 I found out that the save function in the Demo was turned off so I lost everything and wasted a whole day teaching myself about something I'll never pay for and use.

Any suggestions wuold be appreciated. Hope this is the right forum, sorry if it's not.

Pics - PCB Component side, PCB Soldered side, Schematic Diagram I'm trying to make as yet unfinished

Thanks,

John

Attachments

• Bad Ray Jefferson Model 155 (1).jpg
    Bad Ray Jefferson Model 155 (1).jpg
    152.2 KB · Views: 864
  • Ray Jefferson Model 155 Circuit Board Solder side (1).jpg
    Ray Jefferson Model 155 Circuit Board Solder side (1).jpg
    149.7 KB · Views: 642
  • Model 155 Schematic.jpg
    Model 155 Schematic.jpg
    82 KB · Views: 681
Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Is this a power supply you're trying to fix?

It looks like there have been some attempts already.

Tracing out the circuit would not be my #1 priority in this case.

johnbkobb

Mar 11, 2014