Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Push button start-stop computer psu without motherboard

Bobsone

Jan 3, 2016
Hi
First the disclaimer, I am a novice, I have a little experience with building circuits so I can claim enough knowledge to get myself into trouble...

I thought I could use a tiny ITX case with an onboard 60w power supply to hold and power a phono preamp and a headphone preamp (both 12v). I still have to check the wattages but I am still at the idea stage and I don’t think they will exceed the PSUs 12v rail(s).

My problem-question;
How can I use the push on-push off button on the front of the case to start the internals. I know that starting a PSU without a motherboard requires the grounding of the green (5v) wire in the 20/24 connecter, but how to do this with the front panel push button and no motherboard.

My online searches have lead me to push-on push-off latching circuits which would be great... Unfortunately I think it won’t work in this instance because I am wanting to ground the positive supply that is also powering the circuit.
E.g. http://www.electronicecircuits.com/...on-soft-latching-toggle-on-off-switch-circuit or a transistor based version
I then thought about using a latching circuit (powered from the input side of the PSU) to provide power to a relay which would ground the 5v start circuit. However, I suspect I would then need to have some other circuit working in conjunction with the relay to control any “bounce” associated with the relay operation.

My third idea was to permenately ground the 5v start wire and use a latching circuit to switch the PSUs input. But this isn’t a 5v milli amp circuit anymore..... and what will the PSU start up supply look like?
E.g. something like this; Driving capacitive loads, Figure4, http://www.mosaic-industries.com/em...n-switch-turn-on/latching-toggle-power-switch