Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Pulse frequency reduction circuit

The_Biochemist

Apr 4, 2017
Hi - as you can probably already tell I am not an electronics expert! i can just about hold a soldering iron.

I have a problem and hope someone might be able to help me with a circuit design or at least give me pointers so I can research and learn myself.

My problem:
I need to remove the tachograph from my vehicle as I no longer need it. It is provided a pulse signal where the frequency is relative to speed from a hall effect sensor on the gearbox output shaft.

I have identified from some minor wiring revision after removing the tachograph that once provided with a 12v power source the output from the hall sensor can be directly routed to the vehicles ECU and provides a suitable signal for the ECU to drive the speedometer, odometer and the like.

So far so good - however the speed displayed is exactly 10x the speed the vehicle is moving at (based on GPS reported speed).

What I think I need:
I think I need a circuit that can take the pulse feed form the hall sensor and output a pulse feed that is 1/10th the frequency of the input feed but with the same wave form??

Is this possible?

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
I think I need a circuit that can take the pulse feed form the hall sensor and output a pulse feed that is 1/10th the frequency of the input feed but with the same wave form??
Is this possible?
Depends on what you mean by "form". If the signal is a 12 V peak-to-peak square or rectangular wave, it can easily be divided by 10 with common ICs. The output waveform might be a symmetrical square wave (50% duty cycle, high 50% of the time and low 50% of the time), or a rectangular waveform with other duty cycles, such as 60% or 10%. If you want the exact input duty cycle at the output, that is much more difficult for a signal that varies in frequency.

ak

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
Hello and welcome to EP.

Yes it's possible.