Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Programming Languages

doteroargentino

Nov 17, 2017
Hello! I am currently studying electronic engineering and for some time I've been learning C++ on my own because I just like the language but I have a few questions.
1. Should I keep learning C++ or should I switch to C, Java, ASM or some other language?
2. What else can we program from the hardware point of view apart from microcontrollers?
3. What programming languages are used when making firmware for different modules (such as WiFi, Bluetooth, etc.)?
4. The only microcontroller I have is the embedded atmel my arduino uno has, should I get something else for better understanding of how things work and to practice?

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
1. Yes - but no reason why you can't add to your knowledge by including others
2. EPROMs, EEPROMs etc i.e. any memory-capable device
3. All of the above
4. Get a selection of the most commonly used devices and learn their architecture. C++, being a 'transportable' programming language means you don't really need to know much about the hardware but an understanding of their capabilities will always increase your knowledge of what can be done with them - and which device might be preferable over another.

doteroargentino

Nov 17, 2017
1. Yes - but no reason why you can't add to your knowledge by including others
2. EPROMs, EEPROMs etc i.e. any memory-capable device
3. All of the above
4. Get a selection of the most commonly used devices and learn their architecture. C++, being a 'transportable' programming language means you don't really need to know much about the hardware but an understanding of their capabilities will always increase your knowledge of what can be done with them - and which device might be preferable over another.
Alright thank you very much for your reply!

BobK

Jan 5, 2010